How to Promote Your Band 101 – Concert Flyers

Through my years of music promotion I’ve seen my share of concert flyers. A rare few actually worth a second glace. If you’re trying to be a serious band you need to look at your band as a business/brand. Everything you put forward is trying to gain a bigger audience, so if you give me a flyer that looks like it took you 5 minutes to design I’m already making judgments about you. If you’re a struggling artist or band trying to set yourself apart from all the other struggling acts is kind of important. So unless you want start wearing clown makeup or becoming a performance art act you might want to take a look at what you’re handing out to people. Does it look something like this?

Side Note: If your band name is WE RAPED SANTA CLAUS not only will I go see your band I will totally buy a T-shirt.

 

Now take a look at this.

If someone is in the business of booking or signing bands I can tell you for sure which show they are more likely to check out. They are always going to check out the band that looks to have their shit together.

So what can you do?

I realize not everyone is an artist. However more than likely you already know someone who can draw, paint, Photoshop, finger paint etc. Sit down with them and ask them if they can help you design a decent show flyer or poster. Also check out local art colleges, most of those kids have free time and the talent to really make some rad stuff. Plus if they are really cool you can print up extras and sell them. (Don’t be a dick and not give the artist a cut too).

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “How to Promote Your Band 101 – Concert Flyers

  1. David

    I live in Point Pleasant!

    and yes, I’ve seen some bad flyers in my time like that one.

    I want that Where the Wild Things are one though, thats awesome.

Leave a Reply

